I Was Not Born To Swim, Bike and Run

I Was Not Born To Swim, Bike and Run

I will be 51 years of age come August 2014 and I am a triathlete. I was not born to be a triathlete yet it has been 12 years running that I have swam, bike and ran countless kilometers around the globe. I prefer football.

It was an illness and a book that got me started. I completed my first Olympic distance triathlon finishing last in all the aged group combined. I was embarrassed approaching the end but when I crossed that finishing line, the crowd cheered. It brought tears to my eyes and a sense of achievement. That moment changed my life.

Today, I managed a few podium finishes in my aged group, completed Ironman races and raised funds for charity and along the way, I have fractured and torn different parts of my body. I will still train vigorously and as long as I can breathe and my mobility allows me. You will see me in the ocean, on a road and run trails.

I have three people I would like to thank – God, Lance Armstrong and Tracy Mok.

I still prefer football.

One thought on “I Was Not Born To Swim, Bike and Run

  1. Pingback: I Was Not Born To Swim, Bike and Run | 50 is the new 30

Leave a Reply

